Thursday, September 19, 2002

11.00-13.00 Registration [Kondou Hall]

13.00-14.00 Opening Ceremony [Great Hall]

Welcoming addresses by:

  • Prof. Georgios Babiniotis (Rector, University of Athens)

  • Prof. Evangelos Venizelos (Minister of Culture and Professor of Constitutional Law at the Aristotle University of Thessaloniki)

  • Prof. Petros A. Gemtos (Former Rector, University of Athens, President of the Organizing Committee)

  • Prof. Gerrit De Geest (President of EALE)

  • Dr. Aristides N. Hatzis & Dr. Aspasia Tsaoussis (local organizers)

14.00-15.30 Parallel Session 1

Panel 1A [Great Hall]

Social Norms (Chairperson: Thomas Ulen)

Discussant: Henrik Lando

Discussant: Annabelle Stella-Caumel

Panel 1B [Propylaea Hall]

Financing Innovation (Chairperson: Nikos Vettas)

Discussant: Wolfgang Weigel

Discussant: John Huntley

Panel 1C [Faculty & Department Meeting Hall]

Family Law (Chairperson: Nicos Alivizatos)

Discussant: Nuno Garoupa

Discussant: Roberto Pardolesi

15.30-16.00 Coffee Break [Atrium]

16.00-17.30 Parallel Session 2

Panel 2A [Great Hall]

Transaction Costs (Chairperson: George Bitros)

  • Andreas Papandreou, Transaction Cost and Pareto Optimality

Discussant: Carole Billiet

Panel 2B [Propylaea Hall]

Corporate Governance (Chairperson: Nickolaos Travlos)

Discussant: Laura Onofri

Discussant: Claus Ott

Panel 2C [Faculty & Department Meeting Hall]

Institutional Determinants of Economic Growth I (Chairperson: Jürgen Backhaus)

Discussant: Stefan Voigt

Discussant: Christos Hadjiemmanuil

18.00 Reception [Atrium]

Friday, September 20, 2002

9.00-10.30 Parallel Session 3

Panel 3A [Great Hall]

Labor Law (Chairperson: Phoebus Christodoulou)

Panel 3B [Propylaea Hall]

Regulatory Competition and Enforcement (Chairperson: GÆran Skogh)

Panel 3C [Faculty & Department Meeting Hall]

Litigation and Alternative Dispute Resolution (Chairperson: Wolfgang Weigel)

10.30-11.00 Coffee Break [Atrium]

11.00-12.30 Parallel Session 4

Panel 4A [Great Hall]

Torts and Liability I (Chairperson: Stefanos Matthias)

Panel 4B [Propylaea Hall]

Judicial Behavior (Chairperson: Claus Ott)

Panel 4C [Faculty & Department Meeting Hall]

Crime and Law Enforcement (Chairperson: Tryphon Kollintzas)

12.30-14.00 Lunch [Atrium]

14.00-15.30 Parallel Session 5

Panel 5A [Great Hall]

Intellectual Property (Chairperson: Lambros Kotsiris)

Discussant: Frank Stephen

Discussant: Fernando Gomez

Panel 5B [Propylaea Hall]

Normative Law & Economics (Chairperson: Stavros A. Drakopoulos)

Discussant: Thomas Ulen

Discussant: Jörgen Backhaus

Panel 5C [Faculty & Department Meeting Hall]

Cyberspace Law (Chairperson: Nikolaos Intzessiloglou)

Discussant: Ben Depoorter

  • Dotan Oliar, Copyright Duration and Scope: Applications for the Internet

Discussant: Assaf Jacob

15.30-16.00 Coffee Break [Atrium]

16.00-17.30 Parallel Session 6

Panel 6A [Great Hall]

Challenges to Rational Choice (Chairperson: Petros Gemtos)

Discussant: Dotan Oliar

Discussant: George Pagoulatos

Panel 6B [Propylaea Hall]

Institutional Determinants of Economic Growth II (Chairperson: Epaminondas Spiliotopoulos)

Discussant: Steen Thomsen

Discussant: Kecheng Li

Panel 6C [Faculty & Department Meeting Hall]

Environmental Law (Chairperson: Desa Mlikotin-Tomic)

Discussant: GÆran Skogh

Discussant: Marc Deschamps

18.00-19.00 Invited lecture by Judge Richard A. Posner

Formal versus Substantive Economic Theories of Law

Judge Posner will be introduced by the President of EALE, Prof. Gerrit De Geest

19.30 Conference Dinner [Atrium]

Saturday, September 21, 2002

9.00-10.30 Parallel Session 7

Panel 7A [Ioannis Drakopoulos Amphitheater]

Property Rights (Chairperson: George Mergos)

Panel 7B [Propylaea Hall]

Preferences and Choices (Chairperson: Phaedon Kozyris)

Panel 7C [Faculty & Department Meeting Hall]

Economics of Politics (Chairperson: Dimitris Dimitrakos)

10.30-11.00 Coffee Break [Atrium]

11.00-12.30 Parallel Session 8

Panel 8A [Ioannis Drakopoulos Amphitheater]

Torts and Liability II (Chairperson: Michael P. Stathopoulos)

Panel 8B [Propylaea Hall]

Contracts (Chairperson: Konstantinos D. Kerameus)

Panel 8C [Faculty & Department Meeting Hall]

Criminal Procedure (Chairperson: C.D. Spinellis)

12.30-14.00 Lunch [Atrium]

Meeting of EALEs Steering Committee [Faculty & Department Meeting Hall]

14.00-15.30 EALE Members Meeting

Farewell Addresses

[Great Hall]

16.00 Excursion to Sounion

Meeting Point: Hotel Divani Caravel